Applications Open for the Portia Geach Memorial Award 2011

Celebrating female Australian artists

The Portia Geach Memorial Award is a celebration of female Australian artists. It’s Australia’s most prestigious portrait prize for female artists and has greatly contributed to the development of female artists in this country.

It was established by Florence Kate Geach in 1961 in memory of her sister, Portia Geach and is awarded each year to the best portrait painted from life of some man or woman distinguished in Art, Letters or the Sciences.

Applications Open

Applications for the 2011 Portia Geach Memorial Award are now open. All applications are required to be submitted online. To apply click here.

Applications close at 5:30pm on Friday 19 August 2011.

Previous Winners

Previous winners of the Portia Geach Memorial Award include:

2010 Prudence Flint, Scrambled egg

2009 Christine Hiller, The Old Painter

2008 Jude Rae, Self Portrait 2008 (the year my husband left)

2007 Maryanne Coutts, Melbourne

2006 Lucy Culliton, Self with Friends

2005 Jude Rae, Large Interior (Micky Allan)

2004 Nerissa Lea, The Sheik & Me, Self Portrait with Imagined Portrait of Chad Morgan after Frida Kahlo

2003 Wendy Sharpe, Self Portrait with Tea Cup and Burning Paintings

2002 Vicki Varvaressos, Self Portrait with Painting

2001 Mary Moore, At Home

2000 Nancy Borlase, The Sisters: Marie and Vida Breckenridge

Further information:  Contact 
The Trust Company is the trustee for the Portia Geach Memorial Award:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s